Cricket World Cup Winners List: Australia and India on top

Cricket World Cup winners are known as the World Champions for four long years until the next World Cup takes place.

Being a World Champions in a dream of almost every players. But very few of them have been successful in doing so.

The International One Day Cricket World Cup is an ICC Cricket Event. The tournament is organized every four years with first qualifying rounds leading to semifinals and finals, by the governing body of the sport, the International Cricket Council (ICC).

The game is one of the most famous sporting events in the world and it is recognise by the International Cricket Board as the “centrepiece game” of the ICC.

Till now, there have been 12 editions of cricket world cup. Australia has won the trophy 5 times, most by any team. Therefor, making them the most successful team.

India and West Indies have won it twice in cricket career so far. England is the current champion after they won the 2019 edition on their home soil.

Cricket World Cup Winners List:

World Cup 1975

1975 World Cup is the first edition of the tournament. West Indies were the champions that year when they defeated England by 17 runs at London’s Lord stadium.

World Cup 1979

After a huge success, 1979 edition was already set be more exciting. Again the West Indies team stood tall at the end when they defeated England by 92 runs at the same venue.

World Cup 1983

It was the first that West Indies didn’t won the event, but again they were in the final. They were beaten by Indian team by 43 runs, again same venue.

World Cup 1987

In this edition Australia won their first of many world cup. They defeated England by a small margin of 7 runs to win it at Eden Gardens, Kolkata.

World Cup 1992

1992 World Cup was a memorable event for Pakistan. They defeated England by 22 runs in Melbourne’s MCG stadium to win their one and only World Cup.

World Cup 1996

Another Asian team, Sri Lanka won the the trophy for the first time when they beat Australia by 7 wickets at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore.

World Cup 1999

Cricket World Cup Winners
Australia won 1999 World Cup

Australia won the 1999 World Cup by beating Pakistan by a margin of 8 wickets at Lords. Lance Klusener was the man of the tournament.

World Cup 2003

India were first time on the final since 1983 World Cup. But they lost to the most successful team Australia. This was Australia’s third title.

World Cup 2007

Australia were the champions for the 3rd consecutive time when they beat Sri Lanka in the final of the 2007 edition at Kensington Oval.

World Cup 2011

Cricket World Cup Winners
India won 2011 World Cup

India were the champions after 28 years without lifting the trophy when beat Sri Lanka on their home soil by a margin of 6 wickets.

World Cup 2015

Australia were crowned the champions 5th time when they beat neighbour New Zealand in the final by 7 wickets.

World Cup 2019

England won their first World Cup under the leadership of Eoin Morgan, they defeat New Zealand in an exciting final that went to the super over.

From 1975 to 2011, there was a record that none of the team were able to win the World Cup on their home soil. But in 2011, India won the World Cup on their home soil, also giving farewell to the god of cricket Sachin Tendulkar.


Cricket World Cup 2023: All You Need To Know About It

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Indian football ranking

Indian Football Ranking remains 108 while Belgium still remained at top

Samir Nasri

Samir Nasri joining Kerala Blasters: What’s the real truth